ChatGPT Pro Gets A Limit Boost: Here’s What That Means
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro Gets A Limit Boost: Here’s What That Means on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 ChatGPT Pro plan and doubled Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The $200 plan’s lower allowance was raised to match the higher one; chat limits and prices are unchanged on several tiers. Business Premium usage also increased, but OpenAI did not publish a multiplier.

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan on October 29 and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on several paid plans. The company says Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers now get twice their previous allowance, while the lower allowance on Pro 200 was doubled to match the higher one; the plans’ prices did not change.

OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous allowance for ChatGPT Work and Codex. Those products draw on the same usage pool, so the increase gives subscribers more capacity across longer ChatGPT tasks and coding-agent use. OpenAI’s updated Pro help page says existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for a renewal date.

For Pro 200, the change reverses a reduction that had been scheduled to begin October 30. OpenAI says the lower allowance doubled to match the higher allowance already available to some subscribers. Its help page says subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it; those on the lower allowance move up. Thus the plan was restored for some customers rather than doubled for every Pro 200 subscriber.

OpenAI also says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not specify by how much. An October 29 post by OpenAI product lead Thibault Sottiaux said Business Premium was doubling, a broader claim than the company’s published plan details. OpenAI’s release notes and help page are clearer on which limits changed: Plus usage is unchanged, as are the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500. Pro 200’s lower weekly chat limit was raised to match the higher one. Prices remain the same, and Ultrafast remains exclusive to Pro 500.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026
The developmentOpenAI changed ChatGPT Work and Codex allowances on October 29, canceling a planned Pro 200 cut and increasing usage on other paid tiers.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

More Capacity, Not Every Limit

The update matters most to subscribers who use Work and Codex heavily: they can use those tools more before reaching their shared allowance, without paying more. For people considering a plan change, however, “twice the allowance” does not mean twice as much output or twice as many completed tasks. OpenAI says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode.

The change also shows why plan comparisons need to distinguish between product allowances. A larger Work and Codex pool does not raise every ChatGPT limit. Users on Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their existing weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and Plus receives no increase. Businesses may need to review seat choices, while keeping subscription usage separate from API budgets, which are not part of this announcement.

For Pro 200 customers, the practical change is that the previously announced cut will not take effect. People who were already on the higher allowance keep it, while those on the lower allowance are brought up to that level. This makes the plan’s usage position more consistent, but does not mean all subscribers receive a new, identical increase from their prior allowance.

Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard Tactile (Graphite)

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard Tactile (Graphite)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How the October Reversal Began

The change follows a month of shifting plans. OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 Pro tier on September 10. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux attributed the pause to demand for GPT-6 Astra, saying, “Demand for Astra is really unprecedented.” That statement described the company’s explanation for the pause; it did not provide usage figures or independent evidence of demand.

On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. An email to affected subscribers said included usage allowances were changing, while the monthly price remained $200. Sottiaux described a tier structure on X as “Plus = 1X, Pro 100 = 5X, Pro 200 = 10X,” adding that some existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” The planned Pro 200 reduction was due to start on October 30. The October 29 reversal came one day before that date.

OpenAI’s October 29 release note, titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans,” says Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their previous Work and Codex allowance and that the Pro 200 reduction was canceled. The updated help page supplies additional detail on the affected and unchanged limits. These official documents are the clearest basis for describing the change.

“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X

Business Premium Increase Unspecified

OpenAI has not stated a numerical increase for Business Premium in its release note. Sottiaux’s post says the limits are doubling, but the company’s plan documentation only says usage is increasing. The precise allowance for Business Premium subscribers therefore remains unclear from the official written details provided.

The announcement also does not quantify the amount of work a doubled allowance supports. OpenAI says actual usage varies with model, task and speed mode, so an allowance multiplier cannot be translated directly into a fixed number of prompts, coding tasks or completed projects. The material does not describe changes to Free, Go or Business Standard plans, so no increase for those tiers is confirmed here.

Check Plan Details Before Upgrading

Subscribers can check their account usage page to see their allowance and should receive the updated limits automatically, according to OpenAI’s help page. No action or wait for a renewal is required for existing subscribers to get the change.

People weighing a move to a higher-priced tier should compare the limits that changed with the limits they actually use. OpenAI has not published a numerical Business Premium increase in its release note, and the announcement gives no new multiplier for overall task output. Any further clarification from OpenAI, particularly on Business Premium’s allowance, would help customers make more direct comparisons between plans.

Key Questions

Which ChatGPT plans received more Work and Codex usage?

OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. Business Premium usage also increased, but OpenAI’s release note does not give a multiplier.

Was the $200 Pro allowance doubled for everyone?

No. OpenAI canceled the planned reduction. Subscribers on the lower Pro 200 allowance had it doubled to match the higher allowance; subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it.

Did ChatGPT prices or all usage limits change?

No price changes were announced. Plus usage is unchanged, and the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 also remain unchanged. Pro 200’s lower weekly chat limit now matches the higher one.

Do existing subscribers need to take action?

No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.

Does twice the allowance mean twice as much work?

Not necessarily. OpenAI says usage depends on the model, task and speed mode, so the allowance increase does not translate into a fixed amount of additional output.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

The Definitive List Of 13 AI Automation Software For 2026

Discover the definitive list of the 13 best AI automation tools for 2026, covering features, scalability, and suitability for various needs.

The Future Of AI Is Limited By Energy Supply

AI expansion faces a bottleneck due to limited electrical capacity, with global data-center power capacity projected to triple by 2030, challenging future scaling.

How Anthropic’s Engineers Are Pushing Further Into AI Coding

A Business Insider headline says an Anthropic engineer discussed her team’s AI coding use, but the available material lacks the interview details.

What We Know About Hackers Using Anthropic’s Claude To Access OpenAI

According to the Wall Street Journal, hackers used Anthropic’s Claude AI to breach OpenAI, marking a rare instance of AI tools used offensively between competitors.