The AI Subscription Shift: What Musk And OpenAI Are Telling Users
AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: The AI Subscription Shift: What Musk And OpenAI Are Telling Users on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

Elon Musk said Grok Bot’s serving costs were “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” but gave no figures or details of a policy change. In the same week, OpenAI published account-sharing limits and said ChatGPT and Codex will use a shared allowance for some paid plans from December, while also increasing or preserving certain higher-tier allowances.

Elon Musk said on November 1 that the cost of serving xAI’s Grok Bot was “unsustainably high relative to revenue,” as OpenAI published limits on paid-account sharing and announced a shared ChatGPT and Codex allowance for some plans from December. The developments point to closer management of AI usage, but neither company’s actions establish that flat monthly subscriptions are ending, a question also raised by OpenAI agent training.

Musk made the statement in response to an X user asking for a Grok Bot reset after users reportedly ran through their usage quickly, amid Musk’s legal battle with OpenAI. He did not provide cost, revenue or margin figures, say what had changed, or announce a new cap, price or reset. His comment concerned Grok Bot, xAI’s task-performing agent, rather than Grok chat generally. Reports also attributed a message about adjusted allocations to Grok’s official account, but the source material says that post could not be independently located; it should be treated as reported, not confirmed.

OpenAI’s help-center information describes two subscription developments. It says the company limits how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be purchased with one payment card or device, covering Go, Plus and Pro plans. OpenAI has not published a numerical threshold in the cited material. Separately, OpenAI says Plus, Pro and Business customers will draw from one shared token allowance across ChatGPT and Codex starting in December. The company says unlimited Instant chats will remain outside that allowance.

The week also brought increases or protections for some higher-tier usage. On October 29, OpenAI’s release notes said Pro 100 and Pro 500 customers would receive twice their previous Work and Codex allowance, while a planned reduction to Pro 200 would be cancelled. A post by Thibault Sottiaux, who works on Codex and ChatGPT, described doubling limits across Pro tiers and Business Premium; the release-note detail specifies the Work and Codex allowance changes. These adjustments show that limits and allowances vary by plan and product, rather than moving in only one direction.

At a glance
reportWhen: Developments reported November 1, 2026;…
The developmentMusk’s comment on Grok Bot costs coincided with new OpenAI subscription limits and a planned shared usage allowance for ChatGPT and Codex.
Thorsten Meyer AI
29 Oct – 1 Nov 2026

Infographic 01 · One week, four moves

More allowance, more metering: the week the AI flat rate cracked

In four days, OpenAI raised some limits, tightened others and announced one shared meter, and Musk called the cost of serving Grok Bot unsustainably high relative to revenue.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue”Elon Musk on X, 1 November 2026, 20:34 UTC, replying to a user who asked for a Grok Bot reset

0cost or revenue figures in Musk’s post
5paid ChatGPT plans under the new device limits
DecChatGPT and Codex share one allowance
2×Work and Codex allowance, Pro 100 and Pro 500
29 Oct · Confirmed

OpenAI gives more on top plans

Pro 100 and Pro 500 get twice their Work and Codex allowance. A planned cut on Pro 200 is cancelled.

Late Oct · Confirmed

Limits per card and per device

ChatGPT may block a new subscription if too many are tied to one card or device. Applies to Go, Plus, Pro 100, 200 and 500. No number published.

31 Oct · Confirmed

One meter from December

Plus, Pro and Business: one token-based allowance across ChatGPT and Codex. Unlimited Instant chats stay outside.

1 Nov · Confirmed post, no numbers

Musk: Grok Bot cost too much

One sentence, past tense. No figures, no new limit, no word on resets or prices.

Paid resets on ChatGPT pull next week’s allowance forward; they do not add usage. Credits are a prepaid balance used after the included allowance.

Sources: Musk on X, 1 Nov 2026 · Tibo on X, 29 Oct 2026 · OpenAI: card and device limits · OpenAI: ChatGPT and Codex usage limits · OpenAI: paid resets.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

Why AI Usage Is Being Metered

For subscribers, a monthly price does not necessarily mean every task draws equally on a service. OpenAI’s published rate card, as summarized in the source material, shows that its most capable model can consume an allowance about 100 times faster per output token than its cheapest model. That comparison concerns token use, not a claim that every task costs 100 times more in total. Agent tasks can also run for minutes or hours, using more resources than a short conversational reply.

The practical effect is that buyers may need to track which model and tools they use, not just how many messages they send. Companies budgeting for AI may face a combination of a per-seat subscription and usage-based limits, much as they track cloud computing expenses. For individuals, checking the plan’s usage page before paying for an upgrade, reset or credits can help clarify what the subscription includes. The source material does not establish that every vendor will adopt the same billing approach or that prices are about to rise.

Products Worth Considering

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How Flat-Rate AI Plans Evolved

OpenAI launched a $200-a-month ChatGPT Pro plan in December 2024, advertising unlimited access to its best models. In January 2025, chief executive Sam Altman wrote on X that the company was losing money on Pro subscriptions because users were using them more than expected. That earlier comment provides a comparison with Musk’s recent statement, but it does not show that the two services have the same costs or business model.

xAI’s pricing information describes Grok Bot as part of its X Premium, Super and Ultra subscriptions, priced at $30, $100 and $200 a month, respectively, according to the source material. Its usage draws from a shared weekly pool that also covers Grok chat and models in the Cursor coding tool. xAI says consumption depends on agent steps, tokens and the work requested, rather than simply the number of messages. These rules help explain why an agent subscription can have a flat sticker price while still applying usage limits.

OpenAI’s shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance is scheduled for December, while the card and device restrictions were described in a help page updated in late October. The available material does not show that OpenAI has ended unlimited access across all products: it specifically says Instant chats remain outside the new shared meter. Plan-specific terms matter, and the companies’ policies are not interchangeable.

“The cost of serving Grok Bot was unsustainably high relative to revenue.”

— Elon Musk, replying to an X user on November 1, 2026

What the Companies Have Not Specified

Musk did not say whether xAI had already changed Grok Bot allocations, what prompted his statement, or whether a reset, price change or new cap is planned. His use of the past tense may prompt speculation that a cost adjustment had happened, but that is an interpretation, not a confirmed announcement. The source material provides no verified figures for Grok Bot’s costs or revenue.

OpenAI’s cited help information does not give the numerical card or device thresholds, or explain in detail how those limits will be applied. The material also does not specify the exact allowance amounts and enforcement mechanics for the shared ChatGPT-Codex meter. It is not clear whether the reported Grok account post about adjusted allocations is authentic; the source writer says they could not locate it. Nor do the cited updates establish a broad industry-wide end to flat-rate AI subscriptions.

December’s Shared Usage Rollout

OpenAI’s announced next milestone is the December introduction of shared token allowances across ChatGPT and Codex for Plus, Pro and Business plans. Subscribers will need to check OpenAI’s plan details and usage pages for the allowance assigned to their tier and any later updates. xAI has not announced a specific next step in the material available here, so users should not assume that Musk’s comment itself changes their current weekly pool.

For both consumers and organizations, the near-term issue is how each provider explains limits in practice: what counts toward an allowance, when it resets, and what options apply after it is reached. Those details, alongside plan prices and model access, will determine how predictable a subscription is. No confirmed price increase or universal switch to pay-as-you-go billing is established by these developments.

Key Questions

Did Elon Musk announce a new Grok Bot limit?

No. Musk said serving Grok Bot cost more than was sustainable relative to revenue, but did not announce a new cap, reset, price or allocation. Any specific policy change remains unconfirmed in the cited material.

What is OpenAI changing for paid ChatGPT users?

OpenAI says it is limiting how many paid accounts can be used on one device and how many subscriptions can be bought with a card or device. It also plans to combine ChatGPT and Codex usage into one token allowance for Plus, Pro and Business plans from December. The cited help information does not state the numerical account thresholds.

Will ChatGPT still have unlimited use?

The source material says unlimited Instant chats remain outside the shared ChatGPT-Codex allowance. Other usage for the affected plans will draw on a shared allowance, so “unlimited” should not be assumed to apply to every model or tool.

Are AI companies ending flat monthly subscriptions?

The cited developments do not establish that. They show that flat monthly plans can include usage pools, model-specific consumption and account restrictions. Musk did not announce a change to Grok Bot pricing, and OpenAI has not said it is ending subscriptions.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

What Anthropic’s Watermark Rollout Means For Older Claude Models

A report says Anthropic’s watermark rollout has a gap involving two older Claude models, but the models and evidence are not available.

Anthropic’s Latest Claude Tools Bring More Options For Lawyers

Reuters reports Anthropic has introduced more Claude tools for lawyers, but available information does not confirm features, pricing or rollout.

What Makes AnySpeechRecognizer And AnyDecisionModel Open Models?

AnySpeechRecognizer and AnyDecisionModel offer shared Swift APIs for speech recognition and structured decisions using multiple model options.

Intel To Acquire Classiq To Create A Full-stack Quantum Computing Platform

Intel has agreed to buy quantum software company Classiq, combining its circuit-design platform with Intel’s quantum hardware. The deal is expected to close in 2027.